Hott Synopsis:

Shock. Absolute, staggering, shock.

Cora can’t believe that she’s not the person she thought. Her father isn’t the man she thought. Her mother could have done something so degrading.

Her life changes absolutely when she arrives home from Normal School, halfway to her teaching certificate, to find her father has had a stroke. How can God ever help them recover from this devastation?

Oh, but He does provide an answer. Not the one Cora had anticipated or hoped for but an answer. She’s to have a Grand Tour with siblings she doesn’t know.

Now, Cora must cope with a new family that doesn’t want her, a new name she’s not prepared for, and admittance into a world she’s never considered.

Will she be able to navigate all of these changes and the fear of leaving behind the only life she’s ever know and still keep God at the forefront?

Hott Review:

I don’t enjoy books like this. I grabbed the second book in the series, Grave Consequences, thinking it a mystery then decided that I needed to read this first. I almost didn’t when I realized it was really a book about life and not just a sweet inspiration romance or mystery.

What I liked: WOW. Just WOW! I was completely drawn into this book. I just couldn’t out it down – and when I was unable to read, I was thinking about it. The plot and imagery are so real you feel transported through time! Amazing!

What I didn’t like: Honestly, I’m glad this series is in three books, but I can’t imagine not reading all of them. If I’d realized that is was essentially one book cut into three books of 400+ pages each I probably wouldn’t have started this series yet, I feel that I’d be missing something integral if I’d not taken this journey with Cora.


Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren
Source: Kindle Free Read 6/2012
Grade: A
Ages: 16+
Steam: YA
Setting: Montanna & then Europe
Series: Grand Tour #1


Author Bio:

Lisa Tawn Bergren is the best-selling, award-winning author of over 40 books, with more than 2.5 million copies sold. She recently finished a teen series called River of Time (WATERFALL, CASCADE, TORRENT, BOURNE & TRIBUTARY and soon will be done with the last installment, DELUGE). She’s also written the Grand Tour Series (GLAMOROUS ILLUSIONS, GRAVE CONSEQUENCES, GLITTERING PROMISES), and is now at work on the REMNANTS Series. REMNANTS: SEASON OF WONDER, releases in April 2014.

Lisa’s time is split between managing home base, writing, consulting and helping Tim with his business. Her husband Tim is a sculptor of ducks-out-of-fenceposts (, graphic designer and musician. They have three kids–Olivia (19), Emma (16) and Jack (11).

All five of the Bergrens make their home in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Websites & Links:


Do you like my reviews? If you do, please, stop by and rate them at one of the bookstores or review sites.

** Many of the books I review are Advance Review Copies. These books are loaned to me for my review. I am in no way compensated for my time nor am I asked to give anything but my honest review. If you have further questions, please, review my FTC Disclaimer on my homepage.

One Reply to “Review | Glamorous Illusions”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.