wait a moment

Review | The Edge of Light

amazon Christianbook.com Goodreads
It is the summer of 1838 in St. Lawrenceville, Missouri, and Molly McGarvie’s life is about to change forever. When her beloved Samuel succumbs to cholera, Molly is heartbroken but determined to take care of herself and her children. But when Samuel’s unscrupulous brother takes over the family business and leaves Molly to fend for herself, she knows she must head out on her own. It is a dangerous journey and Molly has to leave her old life behind. Somehow she must find a way to make a living, keep her family together, and fend off some over-eager suitors.

Book one in the At Home in Beldon Grove series, The Edge of Light will captivate readers with the true-to-life emotions of one woman’s struggle to survive.

from Barnes & Noble

Hott Review:

What I liked: The Edge of Light is a very interesting book. It’s about the growth of Molly after her husband’s death. Molly is a person who isn’t afraid of work and loves with all she is, but she’s doesn’t understand slavery and depends tremendously on those around her. It’s not a bad thing until everything is taken from her and she must find a way to make it on her own. Molly must decide to trust God and to move forward. It’s not an easy thing and her setbacks make for an interesting novel.
What I didn’t like: The Edge of Light is a very slow book. It’s not one of my favorites, but instead something my MIL would love. Much more women’s fiction and very little romance.

Verse Application:

Now may the Lord direct your hearts into the love of God and into the patience of Christ.
II Thessalonians 3:5 NKJV


Author: Ann SHorey
Source: Kindle Free Read on May 2, 2014
Publisher & Date: Revell (January 1, 2009)
Genre: Historical Women’s Fiction, Christian
ISBN: 0800733304 (ISBN13: 9780800733308)
Pages: 318
Grade: B
Ages: 16+
Steam: Mone
Setting: St. Lawrenceville, Missouri, 1838
This Counts for these Challenges: 2015 Let Me Count The Ways Reading Challenge, 2015 New Authors Reading Challenge, 2015 TBR Pile Challenge, 2015 Read Your Freebies Reading Challenge, Reading Road Trip 2015 Challenge
Series: At Home in Beldon Grove #1

The Edge of Light

The Promise of Morning

The Dawn of a Dream

Author Bio:

ANN SHOREY has been a story collector for most of her life. Her writing first appeared in Chicken Soup for the Grandma’s Soul, and in the Cup of Comfort anthologies. She made her fiction debut with the At Home in Beldon Grove series for Revell: The Edge of Light, The Promise of Morning, and The Dawn of a Dream. Her Sisters at Heart series for Revell debuted soon after: Where Wildflowers Bloom, When the Heart Heals, and Love’s Sweet Beginning.
She is also the author of novellas Lessons in Love (featured in the Sincerely Yours novella collection), and State of Matrimony (featured in the Oregon Trail Romance collection).

When Ann’s not writing, she teaches classes on historical research, story arc, and other fiction fundamentals at regional conferences. She lives with her husband in Oregon.

Visit Ann’s Website: author's website


Do you like my reviews? If you do, please, stop by and rate them at one of the bookstores or review sites.

Gina ~ Hott Books

** Many of the books I review are Advance Review Copies. These books are loaned to me for my review. I am in no way compensated for my time nor am I asked to give anything but my honest review. If you have further questions, please, review my FTC Disclaimer on my homepage.

© Hott Books | Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.